.

Poll: Should Joe Paterno's Statue Be Removed?

Critics of the Penn State child rape scandal are calling for JoePa's statue to be taken down. What do you think?

Last week's scathing report presented by former FBI Director Louis Freeh shed light on what some call the gruesome side of Pennsylvania State University and its officials.

Reaction has been swift, steady and strong. For example, a halo that once crowned Joe Paterno's head on a campus mural was removed last weekend.

Once a hero, the nearly sainted head football coach has almost literally been knocked off his pedestal.

What do you think? Should the famous statue of Joe Paterno at Penn State be removed? Take our poll and give us your opinion in the comments below.

Eileen Kernick July 21, 2012 at 04:41 AM
Pat Campbell explained it well. Magic666, I get the sense that you did not read the report of what happened. if you didn't, it might help you understand our passionate anger. if you did read it, well then, we simply disagree...strongly!
Jay Beckerman July 21, 2012 at 04:01 PM
It should be relocated, to some place inside the athletic department, but definitely out of the path of stadium patrons.
Magic666 July 21, 2012 at 04:40 PM
Ahh, a fantastic solution that I can agree with. Instead of taking it down, relocate!! Thank you, Jay!!
Gregg Mitchell July 21, 2012 at 05:57 PM
Wow!!! I still can't believe it has come to this. I have been a die hard Penn State fan since the 70's. Even during the "Joe Must Go" era, I still had Joe's back. But if the evidence they have against him is even remotely accurate, then Penn State has to reverse it's view, that Joe Paterno is Penn State and remove every facet of anything that honor's him. If the allegations are true this is a man that placed his rep, the school's rep, and maybe even friendship with a man that is so despicable that even Satan would not want to be in his presence, far above the safety of children. Such a man should not be honored by anything. Instead he should be gone and and forgotten. Loved you Joe, but you failed as a man.
Ed July 22, 2012 at 03:08 AM
are the students who support Joe-perv , a bunch of morons. Do you not have any sympathy for the kids affected by his turning his back to perversion. They should pick up the statue with a helicopter, fly it up high and release it. Hopefully it will break into a thousand pieces. I bet if it were your kid who was molested and raped you would not support this selfish lying sack of *&^*(
John July 22, 2012 at 03:32 PM
Are you a complete idiot?! Read the report HE COVERED UP, which allowed Sandusky to molest time and again!
Anthony Wayne July 22, 2012 at 04:43 PM
Finally! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QnrojKZ2Q3M&feature=youtube_gdata_player
Rob Castz July 22, 2012 at 05:45 PM
About time, it took them long enough...Sad watching them interview students and alumni up there as they did it.....they STILL don't get it...Yes Joe did some good, a lot of good....but the evil he was complicit with leaves the scales forever tipped to the bad.
Magic666 July 22, 2012 at 06:31 PM
Rob, not everyone agrees, and we are entitled to our own opinions, just as you are. It doesn't mean you are right and we are wrong, or vice versa. Now it's time to impeach Corbett because as top guy in this State, especially when he was AG AND a Board member at PSU, he could have stopped this, and did nothing!
Magic666 July 22, 2012 at 06:33 PM
Ed, what makes Joe a perv?? He was not the one who raped those boys. Do you even know the definition?? I doubt it.
John July 22, 2012 at 08:13 PM
Joe was never low man on the totem pole. Do not read emails, read the entire report.
John July 22, 2012 at 08:15 PM
Where you actually born this stupid, or did it come from years of practice.
Ed July 22, 2012 at 08:22 PM
so magic666 guess you suport pedofiles. Guess with 666 in your name , it is not a surprise. he is a perv cause he knew it was happening and allowed it. he doid nothing to stop it when he could have. So if you support kids getting raped you are a sick mother fucker
Magic666 July 22, 2012 at 09:33 PM
No, I do not support pedophiles, ED! I support Joe, and he wasn't a pedophile! And, not that it's any of your business, but the 666 represents a special day in my life.
Rob Castz July 23, 2012 at 02:19 AM
Agreed ED..... Magic, support Joe?!...yes he wasn't a pedophile but He SUPPORTED and EMPOWERED a pedophile... I originally wasn't necessarily in favor of harsh penalties for the football program, but seeing how the PennSt fans have blindly rallied around Joe and the program, I now am hoping they bury the program tomorrow....ban football INDEFINITELY...the PSU community needs to WAKE UP to what is really important!
Rob Castz July 23, 2012 at 02:23 AM
Magic666, "...we are entitled to our own opinions, just as you are. It doesn't mean you are right and we are wrong, or vice versa....." Yes you are entitled to your own opinion, but lets stop this nonsense of all opinions are equal.....here there are two sides...Good and Evil....or maybe more accurately...THE INNOCENT vs THE GUILTY...I favor the former in both, your entitled to take the other side, but be honest what side you are on. BTW, 100% agree with Corbett...if he knew, he needs to go...out of the Governor's Mansion and into a cell.
Rob Castz July 23, 2012 at 02:25 AM
Magic666, "Ed, what makes Joe a perv??" I think that keeping a pedophile in an office just down from yours is pretty perverted to me!!
Rob Castz July 23, 2012 at 02:28 AM
Jinnyanslono, Fortunately nothing ever happened to me.....HOWEVER UNFORTUNATELY TERRIBLE things happened to Innocent children...and Joe not only looked away but empowered him by giving him access to his campus and football program...projecting??? HOW can you not have anger towards Joe and all those involved????!!!!!
jeannine urban July 23, 2012 at 03:16 PM
I agree with Mr. Gillespie. Joe Pa reported what he "heard"...he never witnessed it!!! He's done so much good which everyone seems to have forgotten.
Rabid hypocrite July 23, 2012 at 03:43 PM
I am encouraged to see how many people here are demanding accountability for Joe Paterno's moral failure, and I hope you will join me in ensuring that we as a nation stop celebrating the legacies of those whose craven moral failures similarly deserve our contempt rather than our admiration. We should begin by tearing down the Washington Monument, which is nothing more than a phallic symbol of oppression! http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/tear-down-the-washington-monument/ How can we celebrate the legacy of a man who enslaved others? No matter what else he accomplished, it can never undo or wash away the suffering he inflicted on the men, women and children whose very humanity he denied by holding them in bondage. While we're at it, we should also destroy the Jefferson Memorial. Not only was he a slave-owner, we are certain that he raped at least one of the woman he enslaved. These are just two examples of the countless monuments to monsters that are scattered throughout our land. Until we recognize these monsters for who they are and stop celebrating their accomplishments, we'll all have blood on our hands.
I love fox news July 23, 2012 at 07:12 PM
Finally intelligent minds prevailed and the action was swift. Thank you. I am still dumbfounded by the amount of supporters that were adamant to keep that statute up. Reminds me of Confederate flag issue, some see this as a reminder of slavery and to others a reminder how the south was so grand and overlooking the obvious.
Rabid hypocrite July 23, 2012 at 09:06 PM
I look forward to seeing your signature and those of all the like-minded people on this thread on my petition to tear down the Washington Monument. Surely we can all agree that enslaving hundreds of men, women and children (not to mention physically and perhaps even sexually abusing some of them) is far worse than anything Joe Paterno is accused of doing.
I love fox news July 23, 2012 at 09:39 PM
Yea I think there was every bit of a few hundred of men, women & children caught up in that historic slavery thing and tearing down the Washington Monument might seem like equal justice for you but the subject right now is removing the JP statue and that's a good start to "leveling the field" of an enabler or someone who didn't have enough smarts to "do the right thing" at the time. Instead Joe choose to look in the direction of his self interest and the pot of gold. I think JP's wife just collected some tens of millions of dollars from JP retirement. Its kind of like hush money but there's no hush. Thank god someone eventually came forward.......Can you imagine living off JP retirement money knowing that its tainted by this?
Rabid hypocrite July 23, 2012 at 10:31 PM
So you are happy to celebrate Washington despite his inhumane treatment of the hundreds of slaves we are certain he owned, and Jefferson despite the certainty that he imprisoned and raped his slaves, yet you condemn Joe Paterno because he only met his legal reporting requirements (alerting VP Schultz and AD Curley to what Mike McQueary witnessed) rather than doing more? Which one of us is the rabid hypocrite?
I love fox news July 23, 2012 at 10:44 PM
"NO" to the first question, "YES" to the second question. The board of directors and the new president signed off on the Freeh report so after you convince them to change there mind then come back and change mine. Man your really stretching to come up with a comparison when you have to dig up George Washington. Child abuse is not accept even if your JP. Whew...Your not a priest are you?
John July 24, 2012 at 12:49 AM
Have any of you Idiots read the report, Joe covered up that is commission, not omission. He was saving the almighty football program at all costs!
John July 24, 2012 at 12:53 AM
You are a moron!!!!
Rabid hypocrite July 24, 2012 at 01:49 AM
Of course the board signed off on the Freeh report -- they payed for it. The purpose of the Freeh report was to bury the Sandusky scandal with Joe Paterno, and Freeh gave them what they paid for. And the Washington analogy is no stretch, it's an observation. We choose to celebrate the contributions of some and largely ignore the evil we know they did. In this case, we're obliterating the good works of a man who we can't be certain was guilty and who can no longer defend himself. Why? Because our 24 hour, sensationalistic media culture has exposed a monster in our midst, and our attention spans are too short to wait for our our ponderous legal system, with its antiquated notions of presumption of innocence and due process, to satisfy our appetites for justice (or vengeance). John Paul II has already been beatified and will likely be canonized despite his utter failure to protect children from predators in the clergy, but Joe Paterno's is being destroyed because he offers PSU (and the NCAA) a sacrificial lamb big enough to satisfy the public's blood lust.
sayitasitis123 July 24, 2012 at 05:52 PM
Sadly, we cannot go back in history and correct all wrongs. But we can move forward and do so. Below I pasted another example of the same. In this case the person who covered up the sexual abuse is going to prison. Note how the "monsigneur" said: "I did not intend harm". Yet by not acting harm IS done. Turning a blind eye to crime, is a crime. Bless the children who have had to suffer for society to finally begin to see this, and to act on it. Associated Press writer JoAnn Loviglio in Philadelphia contributed to this report. PHILADELPHIA - July 24, 2012 (WPVI) -- A Roman Catholic monsignor who became the first U.S. church official branded a felon for covering up sex abuse claims against priests was sentenced Tuesday to three to six years in prison by a judge who said he "enabled monsters in clerical garb ... to destroy the souls of children." " The monsignor said Tuesday: "I did not intend any harm to come to (Avery's victim). My best was not good enough to stop that harm.""
jack July 24, 2012 at 07:10 PM
To have his statue there in the first place is a reflection of mindset of PennState: Football (or sports in general) is everything!!! For all those who defend Paterno, you said he is not a saint. So, then why does he deserve a Statue? I am not asking him to be a saint, he is not, he is only a football coach! That's it! No more, no less. Meanwhile. let's talk about this culture of "sports is everything". This toxic culture has infested to every level including GV schools. Look at how many complaints we got when SD started cutting sports programs or asking parents to pay to play. Look at these parents who think their kids are top athletes and can get scholarships by playing sports. It doesn't bother them if their kids get a broken leg, arm or concussion. Pathetic. PennState is the nature result of these pathetic culture.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something